Institute of Physics

ContactGrudziądzka 5, 87-100 Toruń
tel.: +48 56 611 3310

Dirac Medal for prof. Katharina Boguslawski

dr hab. Katharina Boguslawski, prof. UMK
dr hab. Katharina Boguslawski, prof. UMK photo: Andrzej Romański

Congratulations to Prof. Katharina Boguslawski, who has won the 2022 Dirac Medal of WATOC (World Association of Theoretical and Computational Chemists) for the development of new quantum chemistry methods for ground and excited states of strongly and weakly correlated systems based on tensor-network states approaches like DMRG.

The WATOC Dirac Medal: The Dirac Medal is awarded annually by The World Association of Theoretical and Computational Chemists (WATOC) "for the outstanding computational chemist in the world under the age of 40". The award was first granted in 1998.

Katharina Boguslawski is an Associate Professor at the Institute of Physics, NCU in Toruń. She obtained her Ph.D. in chemistry in 2013 from the ETH Zurich. After being a postdoctoral fellow at McMaster University (Canada), she joined the Institute of Physics (NCU) in 2016 as an Assistant Professor to establish her own research group. In 2019, she obtained her habilitation in physics. Professor Boguslawski has been awarded various research grants like a Early-Postdoc Mobility fellowship (Swiss National Science Foundation), Banting postdoctoral fellowship (Government of Canada), SONATA BIS (NCN), Small Grant Scheme (NCBiR), and  MSCA-IF-EF (European Commission), stipends like Start 2016 (FNP) and a Stipend for outstanding young scientists (MSWiN), and awards like the POLITYKA science award. Her scientific activity covers the development of electronic structure methods for ground and excited states at the interface of physics and chemistry. She is the co-founder and main developer of the PyBEST software package, an open-source electronic structure code.

other news